One Community

Friends of the Robert Crown Center and the campaign for the new, redesigned Robert Crown Community Center, Turf Park, and Public Library

Thank you for your interest in our campaign! This exciting, community-wide fundraising initiative is a public-private partnership involving the City of Evanston, the Evanston Public Library, and dozens of local recreational and community-service organizations. Its objective is to fund the construction of a completely new, $53-million Robert Crown Community Center, Turf Park and Public Library on the current Crown Park property.

The project has a $53 million guaranteed price, funded in part with up to $15 million in private donations, sponsorships, and institutional program partnerships.

Friends of the Robert Crown Center (FRCC) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization formed in 2016 to spearhead community fundraising efforts for the project. All contributions to the Friends of the Robert Crown Center are tax-deductible.

The Robert Crown Community Center in Evanston, Illinois, was built in 1974. Its construction was largely funded by a significant lead donation from The Crown Family. The center serves as a venue for dozens of sports, including hockey, speed skating, figure skating, soccer, football, lacrosse, and basketball. It also hosts summer camps, preschool activities, tutoring initiatives, lunch and nutrition programs, community meetings, and other public services. The Crown Center is the City of Evanston's most used health and wellness facility.

Though the Crown Center is a beloved shared resource, our community's needs have far outgrown the current facility. With your help, we will provide future generations with a remarkable place to learn, play, and grow. Help secure our community's vibrant future. Join our campaign today!

Board of directors

Please feel free to contact our all-volunteer Board of Directors at (847) 448-8113,, or the address below. Thank you.

Daniel Stein, President
Amina DiMarco, Vice President
Raju Ghate, Treasurer
Peter Giangreco, Secretary
Zemen Abebe
Frank Barbaro
John Berkley
Michael Davis
Louis English